My Profile Search Directory Submit News Contact Us Logout Alumni Home
Fall 2005UVA Lawyer - Home
Dean's MessageOpinionClass NotesIn MemoriamIn PrintFaculty Briefs Home


Majoras and Jeffries




Commencement 2005

U.S. SENATOR EVAN BAYH ’81 called for more unity among Americans and summoned the Class of 2005 and their families and friends to a “deeper, more profound level of patriotism” during the May 22 graduation ceremony. “It was true in 1968, it’s true in 2005,” Bayh said. “The time has come for us to think about what each and every one of us can do to strengthen this nation.” Following Bayh’s remarks, the Law School conferred 353 Juris Doctor degrees, 32 Masters of Laws degrees, two Master of Laws in the Judicial Process degrees (to judges completing the Judges Program), and two S.J.D (Doctor of Juridical Science) degrees. Dean John C. Jeffries, Jr. ’73 praised the Class as the best the school has yet offered. “You have also been remarkably substantive,” he told the class. “Your energy and commitment have made the Law School a rich and diverse learning environment, both in and out of the classroom. Your concern for one another, and your inextinguishable good humor have made the Law School fun.” Senator Bayh’s address

2005 Graduation Awards

Margaret G. Hyde Award
Micah Jacob Schwartzman

James C. Slaughter Honor Award
Carrie Faye Apfel

Thomas Marshall Miller Prize
Scott Michael George Cullen

Z Society Shannon Award
Sarang Vijay Damle

Law School Alumni Association Best Note Award
Charles Lowell Barzun

Robert E. Goldsten Award for Distinction in the Classroom  
Joseph Leonard Teti

Roger and Madeleine Traynor PrizeCharles Lowell Barzun
Daniel Aaron Bress

Herbert Kramer/Herbert Bangel Community Service Award
Keva Jeannette McDonald

Mortimer Caplin Public Service Award        
Marne Kay Mitskog

Robert F. Kennedy Award for Public Service              
Patrick Stephen Lavelle

Edwin S. Cohen Tax Prize        
Joseph Leonard Teti

Earle K. Shawe Labor Relations Award Eric Russell Magnus

John M. Olin Prize in Law and Economics           
Jennifer Marie DeLeonardo

Eppa Hunton IV Memorial Book Award Sarah Marie Hobeika

Virginia Trial Lawyers Trial Advocacy Award    
Gregory David Henning

Virginia State Bar Family Law Book Award        
David Benjamin Laibstain

E-mail this page