My Profile Search Directory Submit News Contact Us Logout Alumni Home
Fall 2005UVA Lawyer - Home
Dean's MessageOpinionClass NotesIn MemoriamIn PrintFaculty Briefs Home


Law School Foundation’s Ibbeken Honored; Titles ChangedIbbeken

David Ibbeken '71

TWENTY YEARS AGO, members of the American Bar Association Conference for Law School Development, which brings together deans and development officers, established the J. William Elwin, Jr. Award to recognize outstanding lifetime achievement in law school development. At their annual meeting this year, the Development Committee gave the Law School Foundation’s David Ibbeken ’71 the Elwin Award—just the third time it has been given. In awarding Ibbeken, the committee said he is “known for his humility, lack of ego, and gentlemanly comportment” and “a consummate professional [who] guided the Law School through the largest, completed Capital Campaign in the history of legal education thereby setting a standard for all.”

In other recent Foundation news, job titles have changed for its officers in order to be more in line with other non-profit organizations and to reflect more accurately the job duties and position descriptions of its leaders. Under the revised By-laws, the new titles at the Law School Foundation are:

Michael J. Horvitz ’75—Chair, Board of Trustees

David H. Ibbeken ’71—President and Chief Executive Officer

Melissa A. Young ’83—Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Luis Alvarez, Jr. ’88—Executive Vice President and Chief Development Officer

Victoria W. Jones—Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer

E-mail this page