My Profile Search Directory Submit News Contact Us Logout Alumni Home
Spring 2004UVA Lawyer - Home
Dean's MessageOpinionClass NotesIn MemoriamIn PrintFaculty Briefs Home

Elaine Jones
Courtesy Library of Congress

Marshall Chair Established by Board of Visitors

On February 6, the Board of Visitors of the University formally created the Thurgood Marshall Professorship in Law. The Marshall Chair is supported by gifts and pledges of almost 100 Law School alumni.

Dean John Jeffries noted that “the Marshall Professorship honors a great American and a great American ideal of equality before the law.”

Look for more information about the Marshall Chair and its background in our next issue.






UVA Lawyer Home