News & Events


Levinson Is First to Receive McFarland Prize

The inaugural awarding of The Professor Carl McFarland Prize to recognize exemplary scholarship by a junior faculty member went to Daryl J. Levinson, the Harrison Foundation Research Associate Professor of Law, at a faculty lunch November 19.

In announcing Levinson's selection, Dean John C. Jeffries Jr. cited three articles by Levinson, "Rights Essentialism and Remedial Equilibration," (67 U. Chi. L. Rev. 345 (2000)), "Market Failures and Failures of Markets," (85 Va. L. Rev. 1745 (1999)) and "Making Government Pay: Markets, Politics, and the Allocation of Constitutional Costs (67 U. Chi. L. Rev. 345 (2000)), describing them as "wide-ranging" and integrating "public and private law concepts in ways that are deeply informative as well as intellectually innovative."

He had special praise for "Rights Essentialism and Remedial Equilibration," calling it the "the most imaginative, informed and insightful article ever published on the relation between rights and remedies in constitutional law."

The McFarland Prize, selected on the recommendation of a committee of non-U.Va. law professors, was established through a gift from the family of Carl McFarland, a former professor at the Law School. An expert on administrative and legislative law, McFarland drafted the 1946 Administrative Procedure Act, the federal statute governing more than one hundred governmental agencies. McFarland was president of the University of Montana before joining the Virginia law faculty in 1959. He retired in 1975, meanwhile also serving on the Virginia Commission on Constitutional Revision and chairing the 1968 U.S. Public Land Law Revision Commission. He died in 1979.

The McFarland Prize is a companion to the Roger and Madeline Traynor Faculty Achievement Award, which recognizes superlative scholarship by a senior faculty member. They are awarded in alternating years.
• Reported by M. Marshall

Law Grounds News Index