Mary Claiborne and Roy H. Ritter Prizes

The Ritter Scholars program was established by Willis Ritter ’65, in memory of his parents, Mary Claiborne and Roy H. Ritter. The prizes are intended to recognize members of the rising third-year class who best exemplify the qualities of honor, character and integrity envisioned by Thomas Jefferson when he founded the University of Virginia. Each recipient receives a tuition award. The first Ritter Prizes were bestowed upon members of the Class of 1986.

Ritter’s parents were both native Virginians, his father an engineer and his mother one of the first women admitted to the practice of law in Virginia. Ritter graduated from Cornell University in 1962 having studied engineering, physics and government. During his three years at the Law School, he was a member of the editorial board of the Virginia Law Review, won the ABA prize for excellence in taxation, and served as defense counsel in the honor court system. He was a law clerk to Simon E. Sobelof, chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, and practiced tax law in Baltimore for several years. 

In 1969, Ritter joined the staff of Edwin S. Cohen, then under secretary of the Treasury for tax policy, and a long-time faculty member and benefactor of the Law School. In that position, he assumed responsibility for much of the initial statutory and regulatory framework dealing with the exemption of interest on municipal bonds from federal income taxation. Since returning to private practice in 1972, Ritter was the founder and senior member of the public finance practice group at Haynes & Miller, was the senior partner of Ungaretti & Harris, focusing on public finance transactions, and later was a solo practitioner. Ritter died in 2017.

Ritter established the Ritter prizes, in his words, "to express the gratitude I have always felt for my education at the Law School, and the subsequent professional opportunities."

The Ritter prizes are awarded annually in the spring to up to four rising third-year students, based upon nominations from students, faculty, staff and alumni. 

Ritter Scholars

Class of 1986   
Jeffrey R. Finci
S. Bernard Goodwyn 
Susan J. Hankin
Shelley R. Jackson

Class of 1987      
Michael Ray Keller
Cathy Lesser Mansfield    
Dayna Bowen Matthew 
Robert E. Richardson 

Class of 1988
Kim Collums Bonuomo 
Debra Sabatini Hennelly
James Leo Jacobs
James Fitzgerald Williams

Class of 1989   
Barbara E. Armacost
Brian C. Freeman
Abigail Johnson Raphael
Carlton W. Reeves 

Class of 1990      
Thomas D. DeVita     
Kenneth L. Metzner    
Catharina Yoosun Min      
D'wana R. Terry

Class of 1991   
Ann Bowman Hoover      
Kenneth L. LeBon 
Mark G. Seifert
Mary Kelly Tate

Class of 1992   
Paige M. Fitzgerald
Christa Speight Rapoport
Theodore W. Small, Jr. 
Dwayne Michael Tate 

Class of 1993 
Linda Abdel-Malek 
Richard C. Gross
Dickens Mathieu
Patricia A.Sumner

Class of 1994   
Ricardo J. Hollingsworth
John T. Morton
Veronique F. Pluviose-Fenton
Stephanie A. Webster

Class of 1995 
Diana Strauss Casey
M. Elizabeth Magill 
Wilfredo Pesante, Jr. 
Lavatus V. Powell Ill 

Class of 1996 
Marie G. Cox
Tracey C. Hopper
Paul H. Smyth
Joseph R. Zogby

Class of 1997   
Dylan C. Black
Eric Sheridan Easley
Nancy G. Exume
Julie L. Gantz

Class of 1998
William E. Baroni
Gary M. Gansle
Kimberley D. Warden
Yu-Yee Wu

Class of 1999  
Justin Y.Gray 
Dana B. Hale
David D. Luce
Raquel B. Whiting 

Class of 2000      
Catherine K. Connelly 
John J. Franchini
Chinh Quang Le
Kristi Bess Panikowski

Class of 2001 
Elizabeth Rose Amory
Sarah D. Anthony 
Forrest S.Christian 
John K. Henning

Class of 2002 
Katherine L. Ballenger 
Terrica Redfield Ganzy 
Maria M. Mlynar
Rai I. Wilson

Class of 2004   
Samuel Fraser Reid Ill
Kevin G. Ritz
Emily Joy Vander Wilt Tidmore
Jeffrey P. Yarbro

Class of 2005   
Scott Michael Cullen 
Gregory David Henning 
Marne K. Mitskog
Matthew Jacob Quatrara 

Class of 2006      
Lindsay Buchanan Burke 
Christopher R. Kavanaugh 
Ann S. Robinson

Class of 2007   
Archie Lee Alston
Vanessa Kolbe Eisenmann
W. Eric Grant
Pamela Malisa Wells Reid

Class of 2008   
Brendan 0. Dignan 
V. Kathleen Dougherty
Mai-Linh K. Hong 
Ray Daniel McKenzie

Class of 2009   
Grace Eileen Fu
Rebecca D. Vallas
Joseph Barlow Warden

Class of 2010   
Erin Crowgey
Susan Edwards
Stephen Wills Murphy
Sarah Elizabeth Robertson

Class of 2011    
Melinda Marie Hightower
Martha Claire Kidd
Christopher Aaron Martin
Jesse Cobb Stewart

Class of 2012   
Lindsay Marie Brooker
Sarah Sophie Chase-Levenson
R. Kent Piacenti
Joseph Quinn Wood

Class of 2013 
Chase Johnson Cooper
Elizabeth Casey Dobbins
Ariel Marissa Linet
Daniel Mesfen Maalo

Class of 2014
Simon Joseph Cataldo
Kyle Alan Mathews
Sabrina Asgari Talukder
Lauren Elaine Yutchishen

Class of 2015         
Rory F. Erickson-Kulas
David M. Mitchell
Lide Evans Paterno
Taylor Marie Steffan

Class of 2016
Katherine Bogle
Neil Clausen
Claire Condro
Zachary Ray

Class of 2017
Kierstin Fowler
Casey T.S. Jonas
Charis Redmond
Gannam Rifkah

Class of 2018
Jeremy Bennie
Kirsten Jackson
Scott A. Shermetaro
Phoebe Willis

Class of 2019
Kendall Burchard
Aparna Datta
Amanda Lineberry
Jianne McDonald

Class of 2020
Molly Cain
Manal Cheema
Eleanora Kaloyeropoulou
Read Mills

Class of 2021
Kunchok Dolma
Cat Guerrier
Maria Luevano
Wilson Miller

Class of 2022
Donna Faye Imadi
Emily Hockett
Trust Kupupika
Jeffrey Stiles

Class of 2023
Layla Khalid
Max Larson
Jack Turnage
Shinae Yoon
Class of 2024
Julia Jean “JJ” Citron
James Hornsby
Keegan Hudson
Elizabeth Putfark