The John M. Olin Program in Law and Economics

The John M. Olin Program in Law and Economics

The John M. Olin Program in Law and Economics

Law School

The workshop program invites law and economics scholars from our own faculty and from other schools to deliver working drafts of their papers to the faculty and a small group of students at Virginia. Faculty and students attending are encouraged to read the paper prior to each workshop, which will be held in the Faculty Lounge on Tuesdays from 11:30 a.m.-12:50 p.m., unless otherwise indicated. After brief introductory remarks by the workshop guests, questions and discussion will follow for the remainder of the session. Lunch will be provided.

Full UVA Law Specialty Workshop Schedule


Spring 2022

Feb. 8
Maya Sen (Harvard)

Feb. 22
Yonathan Arbel (University of Alabama School of Law)

March 15
Philip Cook (Duke)

March 29
Jens Frankenreiter (Washington University in St. Louis School of Law)

April 12
Charles Crabtree (Dartmouth College) — Caplin Pavilion

April 26
Jonah Gelbach (UC Berkeley School of Law)

Fall 2021

Sept. 14
Adam Chilton (University of Chicago Law)

Sept. 28
Amalia R. Miller (UVA) and Melissa K. Spencer (University of Richmond)

Oct. 19
Ben Grunwald (Duke Law)

Nov. 2
Oren Bar-Gill (Harvard Law School)

Nov. 16
Weijia Rao (Antonin Scalia Law School, George Mason University)

Nov. 30
Zachary Liscow (Yale Law School)

Spring 2021

Online Via Zoom, 12:30 p.m.- 1:40 p.m.

Feb. 2
Catherine Tucker (MIT)

Feb. 16
Michael Simkovic (USC Gould School of Law) and Eric Allen (University of California, Riverside)

March 2
Netta Barak-Corren (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

March 23
Bocar Ba (UC Irvine)

April 6
Crystal Yang (Harvard Law)

April 20
Shayak Sarkar (UC Davis)

April 27
Katerina Linos (Berkeley)

Fall 2020

Online Via Zoom, 12:30 p.m.- 1:40 p.m.

Sept. 15
Michael Frakes (Duke Law) 

Sept. 29
Elliott Ash (ETH Zurich)

Oct. 20
Jeremy McClane (Illinois College of Law)

Oct. 27
Caroline Cecot (Antonin Scalia Law School, Geoge Mason University) 

Nov. 10
Melissa Wasserman (University of Texas at Austin School of Law) 

Nov. 24
Jennifer Doleac (Texas A&M University)

Spring 2020

Jan. 21
David Hyman (Georgetown)

Feb. 11
Tatiana Homonoff (NYU Wagner)

Feb. 25
Tamar Kricheli-Katz (Tel Aviv)

March 24
Rachel Potter (UVA)

April 7
Jordan Neyland (GMU)

Fall 2019

Sept. 17
Ashley Langer (Arizona)

Sept. 24
Lewis Kornhauser (NYU)

Oct. 29
Yair Listokin (Yale)

Nov. 12
Rory VanLoo (Boston)

Nov. 19
Cindy Alexander (SEC)

Spring 2019

Feb. 12
Jonah Gelbach (Penn)

Feb. 26
Ken Ayotte (UC Berkeley)

March 26
Claudia Landeo (Alberta)

April 9
Anne Piehl (Rutgers)

April 23
Anne Meng (UVA)

Fall 2018

Sept. 25      
Keith Hylton (Boston University)

Oct. 16    
Lara Buchak (UC Berkeley)

Oct. 30    
Daniel Sokol (Florida)

Nov. 13    
Jens Frankenreiter (Max Planck Institute)

Nov. 27    
Abby Wood (USC)

Spring 2018                   

Feb. 13
Paige Skiba (Vanderbilt)

Feb. 27
Anne Piehl (Rutgers)

March 20
Alison Morantz (Stanford)

April 3
Jake Gersen (Harvard)

April 10
Damon Jones (Chicago)      

April 17
Bert Huang (Columbia)

Fall 2017  

Sept. 12
Yehonatan Givati (Hebrew)   

Sept. 26
Andrea Chandrasekhe (UC Davis)

Oct. 24
Jon Elster (Columbia)

Oct. 31
Gary Libecap (UCSB)            

Nov. 7
Georg Vanberg (Duke)

Nov. 28
Mitchell Polinsky (Stanford)