Gantt, Bloom and Martin Win GPA Awards

October 8, 2010
Jackson Walker L.L.P. Award The Carl M. Franklin Prize

E. Rebecca Gantt '11 won the Jackson Walker L.L. P. Award, given to the student with the highest grade point average in his or her class after four semesters. The recipient receives a cash prize and has her name engraved on a plaque in Hunton & Williams Hall.

Past Recipients

1989-1990 Matthew H. Lembke
1990-1991 Ola Nagy Rech
1991-1992 Darius C. Ogloza
1992-1993 Gregory R. Kirsch
1993-1994 M. Elizabeth Magill
1994-1995 J. Scott Ballenger
1995-1996 Eric J. Kadel, Jr.
1996-1997 Stephen M. Nickelsburg
1997-1998 Traci Grieshaber Zeller
1998-1999 Toby J. Heytens
1999-2000 Seth A. Goldstrom
2000-2001 Daniel N. Lovejoy
2001-2002 Melissa B. Arbus
2002-2003 Michael S. Passaportis
2003-2004 Sarang Damle
2004-2005 David Farley Reid
2005-2006 Ajeet Pai
2006-2007 Kenneth Winn Allen
2007-2008 Matthew B. Nicholson
2008-2009 Katherine D. DeMamiel
2009-10 E. Rebecca Gantt

Harold Bloom '12 and Eric Martin '12 tied for the Carl M. Franklin Prize, which recognizes the student with the highest grade point average at the end of his or her first year. The recipients receive a cash prize and have their names engraved on a plaque in Hunton & Williams Hall.

Past Recipients

1997-1998 Toby J. Heytens
1998-1999 Amy E. Potter
1999-2000 Daniel N. Lovejoy
2000-2001 Melissa B. Arbus
2001-2002 Michael S. Passaportis
2002-2003 Katie Sue Bagley
2003-2004 David F. Reid
2004-2005 Paul Crane
2005-2006 Katherine Ireland Twomey
2006-2007 Matthew B. Nicholson
2007-2008 Joelle S. Perry
2008-2009 Adam A. Milasincic
2009-2010 Harold W. Bloom III
Eric D. Martin



Founded in 1819, the University of Virginia School of Law is the second-oldest continuously operating law school in the nation. Consistently ranked among the top law schools, Virginia is a world-renowned training ground for distinguished lawyers and public servants, instilling in them a commitment to leadership, integrity and community service.

News Highlights