Two University of Virginia School of Law students were recently honored for having the top grade-point averages among their classmates.

Daniel Richardson ’18 was awarded the Jackson Walker LLP Award, given to the student with the highest GPA after four semesters.

William Hall ’19 won the Carl M. Franklin Prize, having earned for the highest GPA at the end of the first year.

Recipients for the awards receive a cash prize and have their names engraved on plaques in Hunton & Williams Hall.


  1989-90 Matthew H. Lembke
  1990-91 Ola Nagy Rech
  1991-92 Darius C. Ogloza
  1992-93 Gregory R. Kirsch
  1993-94 M. Elizabeth Magill
  1994-95 J. Scott Ballenger
  1995-96 Eric J. Kadel, Jr.
  1996-97 Stephen M. Nickelsburg
  1997-98 Traci Grieshaber Zeller
  1998-99 Toby J. Heytens
  1999-00 Seth A. Goldstrom
  2000-01 Daniel N. Lovejoy
  2001-02 Melissa B. Arbus
  2002-03 Michael S. Passaportis
  2003-04 Sarang Damle
  2004-05 David Farley Reid
  2005-06 Ajeet Pai
  2006-07 Kenneth Winn Allen
  2007-08 Matthew B. Nicholson
  2008-09 Katherine D. DeMamiel
  2009-10 E. Rebecca Gantt
  2010-11 Katherine Mims Crocker
  2011-12 Galen Bascom
  2012-13 Benjamin Wood
  2013-14 Samuel Strongin
  2014-15 Jared Kelson
  2015-16 Adam Sorensen

  1997-98 Toby J. Heytens
  1998-99 Amy E. Potter
  1999-00 Daniel N. Lovejoy
  2000-01 Melissa B. Arbus
  2001-02 Michael S. Passaportis
  2002-03 Katie Sue Bagley
  2003-04 David F. Reid
  2004-05 Paul Crane
  2005-06 Katherine Ireland Twomey
  2006-07 Matthew B. Nicholson
  2007-08 Joelle S. Perry
  2008-09 Adam A. Milasincic
  2009-10 Harold W. Bloom III 
Eric D. Martin
  2010-11 Joseph Benjamin Tyson
  2011-12 Ben Aiken
Ben Wood
  2012-13 Samuel Strongin
  2013-14 Jared Kelson
  2014-15 Michael Sanders
  2015-16 Isabel Tuz




Founded in 1819, the University of Virginia School of Law is the second-oldest continuously operating law school in the nation. Consistently ranked among the top law schools, Virginia is a world-renowned training ground for distinguished lawyers and public servants, instilling in them a commitment to leadership, integrity and community service.

Media Contact