My Profile Search Directory Submit News Contact Us Logout Alumni Home
Fall 2004UVA Lawyer - Home
Dean's MessageOpinionClass NotesIn MemoriamIn PrintFaculty Briefs Home

Elaine Jones

Marking the 50th anniversary of the Supreme Court’s Brown v. Board of Education decision, former head of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund Elaine Jones, a 1970 graduate of the Law School , told the members of the Class of 2004 that they have a special reason to be proud of the school’s contribution to the ruling, and a high moral example to uphold as well.

“What is it about Brown?” asked Jones. “In four of the five cases brought before the Court the law had got it wrong and upheld the separate but equal law. But there was one Court below where the judge got it right and it was a brave, brave thing he did.… In a 1952 Delaware case, Collins J. Seitz, a University of Virginia Law School graduate, Class of 1940, got it right. Everybody else missed it.” More


Margaret G. Hyde Award
Allison Maria Orr

James C. Slaughter Honor Award
Kevin Gafford Ritz

Thomas Marshall Miller Prize
Jeffrey Paul Yarbro

Z Society Shannon Award
Allison Maria Orr

Law School Alumni Association Best Note Award
David Walker Glazier

Robert E. Goldsten Award for Distinction
in the Classroom
Theodore Allan Kiem

Roger and Madeleine Traynor Prize
Michael Stephen Passaportis
William David Sarratt

Herbert Kramer/Herbert Bangel Community Service Award
Carmen Lynn Elliott

Mortimer Caplin Public Service Award
James Reyes Whitehead

Robert F. Kennedy Award for Public Service
Erin Cathleen Quay

Edwin S. Cohen Tax Prize
Andrew Falevich

Earle K. Shawe Labor Relations Award
Scott Brian Luftglass

John M. Olin Prize in Law and Economics
Michael Stephen Passaportis

Eppa Hunton IV Memorial Book Award
John Lee Newby II

Virginia Trial Lawyers Trial Advocacy Award
Ford Scott Pippin

Virginia State Bar Family Law Book Award
Nuala Ellen Droney


UVA Lawyer Home