Upcoming Events

Events by:

Friday, December 4, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Saturday, December 5, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Sunday, December 6, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Monday, December 7, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Tuesday, December 8, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Wednesday, December 9, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Friday, December 11, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Saturday, December 12, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Sunday, December 13, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Monday, December 14, 2020

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Friday, January 22, 2021

Fulton, Faith, Families and Foster Care

As its inaugural event, the UVA Family Law Center will host an online symposium examining Fulton v. City of Philadelphia, which will be argued before the U.S. Supreme Court on Nov. 4. In the case, Catholic Social Services is challenging the City of Philadelphia’s refusal to refer foster children to Catholic Social Services because it will not certify same-sex couples as foster parents. “Fulton exposes fundamental conflicts between the states’ authority to prohibit discrimination, the right of religious groups to participate in public life, and our collective obligation to promote child welfare,” Family Law Center Director Naomi Cahn said. UVA Law professor Gregg Strauss, co-director of the center, added, “As the case illustrates, our public and private duty to help needy children has become the latest battleground in the fight between the liberty of religious citizens to participate in public life and the state’s obligation to prohibit discrimination against LGBTQIA citizens.” Conference co-organizers Cahn, Strauss and UVA Law professor Micah Schwartzman ’06 will bring together a multidisciplinary group of scholars with varying perspectives, many of whom have filed amici briefs in the case.

Contact: Rebecca Klaff
Sponsor: Family Law Center
Online via Zoom

Monday, January 25, 2021

Spring Semester Begins

Sponsor: Law School

Friday, January 29, 2021

From the Equal Rights Amendment to Black Lives Matter: Reflecting on Intersectional Struggles for Equality

Part of the University’s 2021 Community MLK Celebration, this symposium will feature an address by Elaine R. Jones ’70, the first woman to serve as director-counsel and president of the NAACP Legal Defense Fund. During the event, the 2021 Gregory H. Swanson Award will be presented. The award is named after UVA and UVA Law’s first black student, and recognizes students who demonstrate a commitment to justice within the community. Additional details TBD.

Contact: Rebecca Klaff
Sponsor: Center for the Study of Race and Law, Virginia Law Review
TBD
12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, David Luban

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Monday, February 1, 2021

4:00 PM-4:00 PM

Add/Drop Period Ends

Sponsor: Law School

Tuesday, February 2, 2021

12:30 PM-1:40 PM

Law and Economics Workshop, Catherine Tucker (MIT)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Law & Economics
Online Via Zoom

Friday, February 5, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Gillian Metzger (Columbia Law School)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Friday, February 12, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop,  Lawrence B. Solum

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Tuesday, February 16, 2021

12:30 PM-1:40 PM

Law and Economics Workshop, Adi Leibovitch (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Law & Economics
Online Via Zoom

Friday, February 19, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Sandy Mayson (University of Georgia School of Law)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Friday, February 26, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Amanda Frost (American University)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Tuesday, March 2, 2021

12:30 PM-1:40 PM

Law and Economics Workshop, Netta Barak-Corren (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Law & Economics
Online Via Zoom

Saturday, March 6, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School

Sunday, March 7, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School

Monday, March 8, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School

Tuesday, March 9, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School

Thursday, March 11, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School

Friday, March 12, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School
12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Tom Nachbar

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Saturday, March 13, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School

Sunday, March 14, 2021

Spring Break

Sponsor: Law School

Friday, March 19, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Tabatha Abu El-Haj (Drexel University)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Tuesday, March 23, 2021

12:30 PM-1:40 PM

Law and Economics Workshop,  Bocar Ba (UC Irvine)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Law & Economics
Online Via Zoom

Friday, March 26, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Stephen Gardbaum (UCLA Law)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Friday, April 2, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Rebecca Stone (UCLA Law)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

12:30 PM-1:40 PM

Law and Economics Workshop, Crystal Yang (Harvard Law)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Law & Economics
Online Via Zoom

Friday, April 16, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Maria Ponomarenko (Minnesota Law School)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Tuesday, April 20, 2021

12:30 PM-1:40 PM

Law and Economics Workshop, Shayak Sarkar (UC Davis)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Law & Economics
Online Via Zoom

Friday, April 23, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Julian Mortenson (Michigan Law)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Tuesday, April 27, 2021

12:30 PM-1:40 PM

Law and Economics Workshop, Katerina Linos (Berkeley)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Law & Economics
Online Via Zoom

Friday, April 30, 2021

12:30 PM-1:50 PM

Faculty Workshop, Afra Afsharipour (UC Davis School of Law)

Contact: Ginny Clayton
Sponsor: Faculty
Online Via Zoom

Classes End

Sponsor: Law School

Saturday, May 1, 2021

12:00 AM-12:00 AM

Reading Period

Sponsor: Law School

Sunday, May 2, 2021

12:00 AM-12:00 AM

Reading Period

Sponsor: Law School

Monday, May 3, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Tuesday, May 4, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Wednesday, May 5, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Thursday, May 6, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Friday, May 7, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Saturday, May 8, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Sunday, May 9, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Monday, May 10, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Tuesday, May 11, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Thursday, May 13, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Friday, May 14, 2021

Exam Period

Sponsor: Law School

Sunday, May 23, 2021

Final Exercises/Graduation

Sponsor: Law School