Virginia Tax Study Group Meeting, 2024

UVA Law School
Friday, March 22, 2024 09:20 - Friday, March 22, 2024 16:30

Each year in early spring, some of the nation’s leading experts in tax law convene at the Law School to discuss emerging tax issues. The Virginia Tax Study Group includes scholars, practicing attorneys and government officials who work in tax policy. The event consists of panel presentations and a keynote address at lunch. Will Morris LL.M. ’89, global tax policy leader at PwC, will deliver the keynote address in Caplin Pavilion. All other sessions take place in WB126. Parking will be available in the D2 and D3 lots.

Business Law
International and Comparative Law
Public Law and Political Economy
Public Policy
Tax Law
Walter Brown Hall 126 (WB126) and Caplin Pavilion
Ruth Mason
Virginia Center for Tax Law

Event Details

Events take place in WB126 except where noted.

9:20 a.m.


9:30-10:45 a.m. 

D.C. Panel

  • Jamie Cummins, Senior Tax Counsel, Senate Finance Committee
  • Kathleen Kerrigan, Chief Judge, U.S. Tax Court
  • Ji Prichard, Tax Counsel, U.S. House Ways and Means Committee Democratic Staff
  • Krishna Vallabhaneni, Tax Legislative Counsel, Treasury Department
  • Mark E. Warren, former Chief Tax Counsel, U.S. Senate Finance Committee; Shareholder, Brownstein, Hyatt Farber Schreck
  • Moderator: Cecily Rock ’79, Senior Legislation Counsel, U.S. Congress Joint Committee on Taxation

11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Moore and Beyond

  • Alice Abreu, Honorable Nelson A. Diaz Professor of Law; Director, Center for Tax Law and Public Policy; Temple University Beasley School of Law
  • Harry Franks ’88, Lecturer, University of Virginia School of Law; former leader of tax planning group, Baker Hughes
  • Gil Rothenberg, Adjunct Professor of Law, American University; Lecturer in Law, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School; former Chief, Appellate Section, Tax Division, U.S. Department of Justice
  • Moderator: Eric Solomon ’78, Partner, Ivins, Phillips & Barker; former Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy, U.S. Department of the Treasury

12:45-2 p.m.

Caplin Pavilion

Lunch and Keynote Address

  • Will Morris LL.M. ’89, Global Tax Policy Leader, PwC US

2:15-3:45 p.m.

Pillar 2

  • Lilian V. Faulhaber, Vice Dean, Ralph H. Dwan Chair in Taxation, Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center
  • Itai Grinberg, Carmack Waterhouse Professor of International Law, Georgetown University Law Center
  • Will Morris LL.M. ’89, Global Tax Policy Leader, PwC US
  • John Peterson, Head of Department, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Tax Directorate
  • Isaac Wood ’14, Attorney-Adviser, Office of Tax Policy, U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • Moderator: David Maranjian ’17, Associate, Cleary Gottlieb

3:45-4:30 p.m.

Closing Reception