Law School Academic Calendars

Law School Academic Calendars

2019-20 Academic Calendar

Fall 2019
On-Grounds Interviews (OGI) (2L and 3L students) Sunday, August 4 - Friday, August 9
Mandatory Orientation for LL.M. Students Wednesday, August 14 - Friday, August 16
Optional Orientation for 1L Students Friday, August 16
Mandatory Orientation for 1L and Exchange Students Monday, August 19 - Tuesday, August 20
First-Year Classes Begin Wednesday, August 21
Upper-Level Classes Begin Wednesday, August 28
Add/Drop Period Ends Wednesday, September 4 (4 p.m.)
Fall Break Monday, October 14 - Wednesday, October 16
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 27 - Friday, November 29
Classes End Wednesday, December 4
Reading Period Thursday, December 5 - Friday, December 6
Exam Period Saturday, December 7 - Thursday, December 19 (See Final Exam Schedule for details.)
January Term 2020
The Law School’s January term extends from January 2-18.  J-term Abroad courses, J-term Externships, and the Trial Advocacy College occur during this period, while the remaining J-term courses occur only during the week of January 13-17.
Spring 2020
Classes Begin Monday, January 20
MLK Day — Classes Canceled Monday, January 20
Add/Drop Period Ends Tuesday, January 28 (9 a.m.)
Spring Break Sunday, March 8 - Friday, March 13
Classes End Friday, April 24
Reading Period Saturday, April 25 - Sunday, April 26
Exam Period Monday, April 27 - Friday, May 8 (See Final Exam Schedule on LawWeb for details.)
Final Exercises/Graduation Sunday, May 17 (University & Law School Ceremonies)

 

2020-21 Academic Calendar (Tentative)

Fall 2020
On-Grounds Interviews (OGI) (2L and 3L students) TBA
Orientation for LL.M. and Transfer Students TBA
Optional Orientation for 1L Students Friday, August 14
Mandatory Orientation for 1L and Exchange Students Monday, August 17 - Tuesday, August 18
First-Year Classes Begin Wednesday, August 19
Upper-Level Classes Begin Wednesday, August 26
Add/Drop Period Ends Wednesday, September 2 (4 p.m.)
Fall Break Monday, October 12 - Wednesday, October 14
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 25 - Friday, November 27
Classes End Wednesday, December 2
Reading Period Thursday, December 3 - Friday, December 4
Exam Period Saturday, December 5 - Thursday, December 17 (See Final Exam Schedule for details.)
January Term 2021
J-term courses offered January 4-23. Most courses to be offered during the week of January 18-22.
Spring 2021
Classes Begin Monday, January 25
Add/Drop Period Ends Monday, February 1 (4 p.m.)
Spring Break Sunday, March 6 - Friday, March 14
Classes End Friday, April 30
Reading Period Saturday, May 1 - Sunday, May 2
Exam Period Monday, May 3 - Friday, May 14 (See Final Exam Schedule.)
Commencement/Graduation Sunday, May 23 (University & Law School Ceremonies)