Law School Academic Calendars

Law School Academic Calendars

2020-21 Academic Calendar

Fall 2020
Mandatory Orientation for LL.M. Students To be announced
Mandatory Orientation for 1L and Exchange Students Monday, August 17 - Tuesday, August 18
First-Year Classes Begin Wednesday, August 19
Upper-Level Classes Begin Wednesday, August 26
Course Add/Drop Period Ends Wednesday, September 2 (4 p.m.)
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 25 - Friday, November 27
Classes End Tuesday, November 24
Reading Period Monday, November 30 and Tuesday, December 1
Exam Period Wednesday, December 2 - Monday, December 14
January Term 2021
The Law School’s January term extends from January 4-23.  J-term Abroad courses, J-term Externships, and the Trial Advocacy College occur during this period, while the remaining J-term courses occur from January 19-22. No J-term classes will be held on the MLK Day holiday, January 18, 2021.
Spring 2021
Spring Semester Begins Monday, January 25
Add/Drop Period Ends Monday, February 1 (4 p.m.)
Spring Break Saturday, March 6 - Sunday, March 14
Classes End Friday, April 30
Reading Period Saturday, May 1 - Sunday, May 2
Exam Period Monday, May 3 - Friday, May 14 (See Final Exam Schedule on LawWeb for details.)
Final Exercises/Graduation Sunday, May 23 (University and Law School Ceremonies)

 

2021-22 Academic Calendar (Tentative)

Fall 2021
On-Grounds Interviews (OGI) (2L and 3L students) To be announced
Orientation for LL.M. and Transfer Students To be announced
Optional Orientation for 1L Students Friday, August 13
Mandatory Orientation for 1L and Exchange Students Monday, August 16 - Tuesday, August 17
First-Year Classes Begin Wednesday, August 18
Upper-Level Classes Begin Wednesday, August 25
Add/Drop Period Ends Wednesday, September 1 (4 p.m.)
Fall Break Monday, October 11 - Wednesday, October 13
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 24 - Friday, November 26
Classes End Wednesday, December 1
Reading Period Thursday, December 2 - Friday, December 3
Exam Period Saturday, December 4 - Thursday, December 16 (See Final Exam Schedule for details.)
January Term 2022
The Law School’s January term extends from January 3-23.  J-term Abroad courses, J-term Externships, and the Trial Advocacy College occur during this period, while the remaining J-term courses occur from January 18-21.  No J-term classes will be held on the MLK Day holiday, January 172022.
Spring 2022
Classes Begin Monday, January 24
Add/Drop Period Ends Monday, January 31 (4 p.m.)
Spring Break Saturday, March 5 - Sunday, March 13
Classes End Friday, April 29
Reading Period Saturday, April 30 - Sunday, May 1
Exam Period Monday, May 2 - Friday, May 13 (See Final Exam Schedule.)
Final Exercises/Graduation Sunday, May 22 (University & Law School Ceremonies)