The University of Virginia School of Law has named four students as 2018-19 Ritter Scholars: Kendall Burchard, Aparna Datta, Amanda Lineberry and Jianne McDonald.

Each year, the Mary Claiborne and Roy H. Ritter Prizes recognize third-year students who best exemplify the qualities of honor, character and integrity envisioned by Thomas Jefferson when he founded UVA. The honorees — selected based on nominations from students, faculty, staff and alumni — receive a tuition award.

Kendall Burchard is president of Virginia Law Women and Common Law Grounds, and is a William Minor Lile Moot Court Competition finalist, as well as the first-place winner of a Craven Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition. She is also involved with the Appellate Litigation Clinic, a Peer Advisor and a member of The Raven Society. After graduation, she will clerk for Judge William B. Shubb of the Eastern District of California.

Aparna Datta has served as managing editor of the Virginia Law Review, and senator and diversity committee chair of the Student Bar Association. She has also served as a Peer Advisor, a board member of the American Constitution Society and a student coach for the Extramural Moot Court team. She is a member of The Raven Society. She has interned at a district attorney’s office in Texas and the Center for American Progress in Washington, D.C.

Amanda Lineberry interned at the Legal Aid Justice Center and was a member of the Health Law Clinic. She is a Peer Advisor and a board member of Virginia Law Women. She has conducted research on the ability of cities in Virginia to remove Confederate memorials. She was a William Minor Lile Moot Court Competition semifinalist and is the competition’s incoming president.

Jianne McDonald has been president of the Black Law Students Association, a participant in the Innocence Project Clinic and a member of the Virginia Sports & Entertainment Law Journal editorial board. Under her leadership, BLSA was named national chapter of the year, visited South Africa for its annual service trip and bestowed the inaugural BLSA Alumni Spotlight Award.

“Every year I am so impressed by the résumés of the students selected to be Ritter Scholars, and this year is no exception,” said Sarah Davies ’91, assistant dean for student affairs. “These four extraordinary women are real leaders and have a tremendous positive impact on the Law School. We are lucky to count them as members of this community.”

Founded in 1819, the University of Virginia School of Law is the second-oldest continuously operating law school in the nation. Consistently ranked among the top law schools, Virginia is a world-renowned training ground for distinguished lawyers and public servants, instilling in them a commitment to leadership, integrity and community service.

Media Contact