About the Foundation

About the Foundation

The Law School Foundation, created in 1952 as a trust by Law School alumni and now a nonprofit corporation, receives, administers, and manages private gifts from graduates and friends. The school’s current strength and national standing can be attributed directly to private resources.

The Foundation's Board of Trustees consists of 19 elected trustees and several ex-officio members including the dean.

The Law School's Alumni Association was organized in 1921 to advance the cause of legal education, promote the interests of the Law School, and encourage professional associations and fellowship among its graduates.

It is a non-dues paying organization governed by an Alumni Council of 15 elected members, the officers and former presidents of the association, and the chairs of its standing committees, the largest of which is the National Appeals Committee responsible for directing the Annual Giving Campaign.

Foundation Staff

Law School Foundation Board of Trustees

F. Blair Wimbush '80, Chair
Sarah Robinson Borders '88
David C. Burke '93
Thomas R. Denison '86
Douglas E. Eckert '93
William B. Fryer '74
Sharon S. Goodwyn '88
J. Warren Gorrell, Jr. '79
Jeffrey L. Humber, Jr. '78
John C. Jeffries, Jr. '73
Catherine M. Keating ’87
Catherine A. Lawton '84
Michael S. Miller '77
Sharon M. Owlett '75
Tim R. Palmer '83
Cecil D. Quillen III '88
Christopher D. Ray '95
Renee E. Ring '76
Robert G. Zack '75

Ex-Officio Members

J. Goodwin Bland '87
Whittington W. Clement '74
Risa Goluboff
Martha A. Warthen '02 

Former Dean

Paul G. Mahoney

Honorary Members

Martha D. Ballenger '69
Lillian R. BeVier
Michael A. Caddell '79
Mortimer M. Caplin '40
Stephen A. Cardi '66
Alfonso L. Carney, Jr. '74
James E. Coleman, Jr. '51
Wallace L. Cook '64
Cameron L. Cowan '81
Gene D. Dahmen '67
Philip M. Drake '51
Charles D. Fox IV '80
John W. Glynn, Jr. '65
Allen C. Goolsby III '68
Michael J. Horvitz '75
Euclid A. Irving '76
Barbara S. Jeremiah '77
Martha Lubin Karsh '81
M. Langhorne Keith '70
Edward J. Kelly III '81
Roger H. Kimmel '71
David L. Mulliken '75
Gordon F. Rainey, Jr. '67
Albert Ritchie '64
Daniel Rosenbloom '54
Norman A. Scher '62
Elizabeth S. Scott '77
William M. Slaughter '66
Suzelle M. Smith '83
John Charles Thomas '75
John L. Warden '65
Samuel B. Witt, III '64

Alumni Council

J. Goodwin Bland '87, President
Elizabeth Finn Johnson '87, Vice President
Chris J. Akin '95
Carlos M. Brown '99
Courtney D. Carter '07
Thomas D. DeVita '90
Lori Ellen Fields '84
Hanna Casper George '93
James Hammons '93
Andrea Neuman '90
Raqiyyah R. Pippins '06
Elissa R. Port '05
David P. Saunders '07
Clarence Stone '87
Thatcher A. Stone '82
Armando A. Tabernilla '84
J. Leonard Teti '05



Kenneth S. Abraham
Leslie C. Kendrick '06


Stephen A. Cardi '66
Gene D. Dahmen '67
William B. Fryer '74
Risa Goluboff 
Allen C. Goolsby III '68
Roger H. Kimmel '71
Paul G. Mahoney
James L. Malone III '72
Patricia Merrill '92 
Richard A. Merrill
Leigh B. Middleditch, Jr. '57
Janet Schwitzer Nolan '89
Sadler Poe '71
Renee E. Ring '76
Albert Ritchie '64
Arthur D. Robinson '88 
Norman A. Scher '62
Laurence Vogel '60
F. Blair Wimbush '80

Other Officers

Luis Alvarez, Jr. '88, Secretary-Treasurer
Ellen Cecelia Walker, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer